Marist Brothers High School Darlinghurst

Old Boys' Union



The Last Blue & Blue – May 2011


Welcome to a special edition of your B & B.


Centenary of MBHSD:


Ø  The BIG EVENT has now been finalised and several changes will need to be noted.


Ø  Firstly, we have been unable to access the old school grounds and it seems unnecessary to go up to Darlinghurst for a street view alone. Therefore, we are resuming previous practice.


Date: Monday 11 July 11.


Mass Venue: St Patrick’s’, Church Hill.


Time: 1030


Lunch Venue: The Rugby Club, Rugby Place, Sydney (between George and Pitt Sts, near Circular Quay). Pre-lunch drinks from 1130.


Cost: $75 – includes 3 course lunch and all beverages. No charge for Priests and Brothers attending. Memories and friendship FREE!


Ø  I have attached a list of all who have accepted/paid a deposit, including a couple who have paid twice. The balance owing is to be forwarded a.s.a.p to Treasurer Vin via our PO Box opposite. Anyone who has not indicated their intention to attend needs to send the full amount. It is very important we don’t have “walk-ins” as it will cause catering chaos. RSVPs close 17 June 11.


Ø  I am sure we are in for a great day. Please spread the word to anyone who may be interested. We have advertised in the Daily Telegraph and SMH as well as a community radio interview. Additionally, there have been notices placed in Marist news communiqués and some Parish Bulletins. Lastly, we are hoping for coverage in the Catholic Weekly sometime during May.


Ø  We have four old boy priests so far to concelebrate Mass, Fr Guy Hartcher, Fr John Worthington, Fr Paul Chandler and Fr Eugene Szondi. They will be assisted by Acolytes, Mark Sinclair and Garry Cahill. Br Tony Butler will again organize our music. Br Jeff Crowe, Marist Provincial, will be guest of honour at the lunch. Mark Sinclair will be in touch with the afore-mentioned to finalise details about the Mass.


There will be a few speeches including a handover ceremony of our OBU to Marist Pearce OBA. These speeches will be kept to a minimum.













Warren Thomas

9527 9857

Vice president:

Mark Sinclair




Larry Hensby

9528 3957


Vince Hallinan

9533 2237


Committee: Colin Sullivan, Br Charles Aqilina


All mail to:

The Secretary,

PO Box A1411

Sydney South. 1235